Merge/unmerge Contacts

Merge Contacts

If a member of your Organization creates duplicate Contacts, you can merge them and retain all of the List data in one profile. You can merge as many Contacts as you want.

As part of the merge process, you can edit the combined Contact entry details so that the merged Contact contains exactly the information you want.

  1. Click at the top of the screen, and then select Contacts.
  2. Check the boxes to the left of each Contact name you want to merge.
  3. Click Merge at the top of the screen.
  4. Select one Contact as the master Contact. The entries will be merged under this master Contact.
  5. Click Merge.
  6. To edit any of the combined details, hover over the entry and do one of the following:
    • To make this information primary for the merged Contact (for example, the primary Contact name): Click .
    • To delete this information from the merged Contact: Click .
    • To edit this information for the merged Contact: Click .
  7. Click Done.

After you merge Contacts, you will have one Contact profile showing all of the associated entries by List name.


Unmerge Contacts

  1. Click at the top of the screen, and then select Contacts.
  2. Click the Contact name.
  3. On the Contact Profile page, click Unmerge below the Contact name.
  4. Confirm the Contact details in the screen that appears, and then click Unmerge Contacts to confirm.

Note: If you merged more than two Contacts, or if a Contact was merged two or more times, you need to complete the unmerge process for each merge.

When you unmerge Contacts, existing Stream content doesn't change. However, going forward, email communication involving the unmerged Contact email address isn't pulled into the Stream.

1 2 3 4 5